La Monnaie-De Munt, Royal Opera House
04/11/11 - 23/12/11
Ensemble de musique de chambre de La Monnaie © La Monnaie / De Munt Ensemble de musique de chambre de La Monnaie © La Monnaie / De Munt
In the magical setting of its Main Bar, La Monnaie is holding a series of Concertini, or concerts lasting forty-five minutes, to take place every Friday lunchtime for two months and performed by the excellent musicians of the Orchestra of La Monnaie brought together in various line-ups. This season, the concerts will, first and foremost, be given over to Polish chamber music from the 18th to the 21st centuries, mixed with musical pieces linked to the operas, concerts and recitals held by the famous opera house. Whether you are an informed amateur or just enjoy listening to music, here is your chance to experience the works of such well-known composers as Fryderyk Chopin, Juliusz Zarębski, Henryk Wieniawski, Karol Szymanowski, Witold Lutosławski and Henryk Mikołaj Górecki or discover compositions by Grażyna Bacewicz, Andrzej Panufnik, Andrzej Czajkowski, Zbigniew Bargielski, Paweł Szymański and Paweł Mykietyn, which are rarely performed in Belgium.


Programme :

>>> 04 November 2011
Mieczysław Weinberg, String Trio, op.48 (1950)
Krzysztof Penderecki, Sextet (2000)

Trio à cordes de la Monnaie
with Ivo Lybeert (cl), Jean-Noël Melleret (cr), Levente Kende (pf)
>>> 18 November 2011
Juliusz Zarębski, Piano Quintet in G minor, op.34 (1885)
Józef Elsner, Septet in D major, for piano, flute, clarinet, violon, viola, cello & double bass (1830)

Quintette à clavier de la Monnaie
with Els Van Zundert (fl), Raymond Dils (cl), Korneel Le Compte (cb)

>>> 25 November 2011
Karol Szymanowski, Violin Sonata in D minor, op.9 (1904) 
Grażyna Bacewicz, Sonata No.4 for Violin and Piano (1949)

Zygmunt Kowalski (vl)
Xavier Ribera (pf)

>>> 02 December 2011 
Aleksander Tansman, Suite pour Trio d’anches (1949)
Maciej Małecki, Suite for Wind Quintet (1984)
Robert Muczynski, Quintet for Winds, op.45 (1985)

Quintette à vent de la Monnaie

>>> 08 December 2011 
Karol Szymanowski, String Quartet N°2, op.56 (1927)
Dmitry Shostakovich, String Quartet N°6 in G major, op.101 (1956)

Malibran Quatuor à cordes de la Monnaie

>>> 16 December 2011 
Karol Szymanowski, String Quartet N°1 in C major, op.37 (1917)
Paweł Mykietyn, String Quartet N°2 (2006) 


>>> 23 December 2011
Karol Szymanowski, Three Fragments from Poems by Jan Kasprowicz, op.5 (1902)
Mélodies de Stanisław Niewiadomski, Mieczysław Karłowicz & Karol Mroszczyk 

Kinga Borowska (mezzo)
Inge Spinette (pf)


Practical information

>>> La Monnaie-De Munt, Royal Opera House (Place de la Monnaie, 1000 Brussels)
>>> 4, 18 and 25 November; 2, 9, 16 and 23 December - 12:30 -> 13:15
>>> 8 € / 5,5

More information on La Monnaie-De Munt website


Org.: La Monnaie, Adam Mickiewicz Institute, Polish Institute in Brussels

Ceci est une erreur


FrançaisFrançais NederlandsNederlands EnglishEnglish